My Best Moment 我最好的时刻

I started practising strength-based coaching on a group of graduates I was training for a period of 8 weeks.  I decided to adopt “You at Your Best“, a positive intervention recommended by Dr Martin Seligman. My objective of the exercise is to make them start paying attention to what they are good at and start using their strengths.

I asked each of them to submit a weekly journal describing a moment when they felt they were at their best, I called the exercise “My Best Moment” — the moment they realised they were using their strength(s) and felt good about themselves. 

For the first 2-3 weeks, the journals I received were all along these lines:
“I could not find my strengths. But I realised I have a few weaknesses which I hope I can improve upon in the next few weeks… (the journal went on to describe what the weaknesses were and how he/she plan improve on them).
“My best moment was when we could go out in a group and had a good dinner together… We had such a good time!” (misunderstood “best moment” for “best time after work”)

I patiently reminded them again what “Best Moment” meant and asked them to watch out for their own strengths and, if they could, also looked out for the strengths displayed by their group members.

4th week onwards, a few began to write like this:
“I felt very good last week as I realised I was good at analytic skills when I was doing the project.  I really liked analytic work, I could continue the work without feeling sleepy or tired…”
“I think I had leadership skill because last week, I could get my group members together to complete the assignment which was difficult and all of us were rather confused initially.  There was a lot of self-satisfaction!” 

5th week on, the number of them writing about their awareness and use of their strengths grew even larger.

I could sense the confidence level amongst them grew in tandem.  They became more engaged with their work and with each others. 

It was one of my best moments.

我开始把优势为基础的辅导实践在一组毕业生的身上,他们须参与一个由我负责的为期八周的培训课程。我决定在这八周里,采取塞利格曼博士建议的一个正面的干预方式:“当你在最佳的时刻”。我的目的着重於让他们可以开始觉察到自己的优点,而后注重和更善于利用自己的优点。

我让他们每个人在每一周提交一份笔记,描述他们在上一周里他们最好的一个时刻, 我把这功课叫做 “我最好的时刻” :也就是当他们觉察到自己的优点,在运用他们的优点,自我感觉良好的那一个时刻。

在刚开始的第二,第三周,我收到的笔记几乎都大同小异,同出一辙地写道:
“我真的找不到到我的优点。但我有发现我几个应该改善的地方。我希望我可以在未来几周内改善这几个弱点…”(笔记继续描述他/她的弱点是什么,他/她如何计划改善它们)。
“我最好的时刻是在星期五,我们一组人到餐厅一起吃晚饭…好开心!”(误解“我最好的时刻“为“我最开心的下班后时间”)

我耐心地再提醒他们“最好的时刻”的意思是什么,并要求他们注意自己的优点,也不妨尝试注意组员的优点。

第四周,开始有小部分的人这样写:
“上周,我觉得非常开心!因为当我在做我的工作任务时,我发现到我的分析能力挺不错。我真的很喜欢这类的工作,当我在做分析性质的工作,我完全没有困乏或疲倦的感觉… …”
“我认为我有领导能力。在上周,我领导我的组员一起完成一份颇困难,且非常有挑战性的任务,十分有满足感。”

到了第五周,察觉到自己的优点而加以利用的人数增长更高了。

我能感觉到的他们对自己的信心,也随之而增长。他们变得更加投入参与工作和与彼此之间的关系。

这是我的其中一个最好的时刻。

Leave a Reply

